委員會

委員會

明德兒童啓育中心(CDC)由一個委員會監導及管理。委員在每年九月舉行的週年大會由選舉所產生,而參與的所有委員均屬義務工作性質。委員的背景亦非常廣泛,當中包括CDC家長代表、來自本地不同團體的代表、以及商界、金融界、會計界和法律界的專業人士。

委員會每年召開八至十次的會議,監察、引導並確定CDC的行政及政策方向,而行政總裁亦需向委員會匯報。

人事委員會

人事委員會負責監導CDC人力資源的管理及發展方向,包括CDC員工福利決策及薪酬調整,以及確保CDC所有人事上的決策都會符合法例上的規管或政策上的轉變。

財務及審計委員會

財務及審計委員會負責為CDC任命核數師、監導年度核數過程、制定學費和預算、投資、風險管理以及內部控制制度。

管治委員會

管治委員會負責監督CDC管治架構,政策,實踐和流程,以確保遵守非營利部門守則的最佳實踐。管治委員會亦會負責規劃委員的繼任以及招聘事宜。

認識我們的委員

在2000年,Sabrina獲委任為CDC委員會其中一位家長執委,其後獲委任為榮譽司庫(2002年)及主席(2007年)。在2018年,Sabrina榮膺香港董事學會頒發「傑出董事獎」(法定/非分配利潤組織類別),以表彰她在機構管治方面卓越的領導才能。在專業領域上,Sabrina是一位擁有30年經驗的執業會計師,於本港一家國際律師事務所擔任財務總監,並於2020年11月榮休。自英國回港後,Sabrina一直致力貢獻本港的慈善公益事務,但在芸芸慈善機構當中,CDC在Sabrina的心中佔有一個重要位置:她的兒子因早產關係曾於CDC接受兩年早期介入治療,其後順利升讀主流學校並在2019年大學畢業。因為早年兒子和家庭所經歷的一切,令她體會到早期介入服務的重要性,所以對CDC的工作抱持熱誠。

Gordon於2016年12月加入CDC的委員會。Gordon1973年便加入香港政府,於各部門擔任高級行政職位,並於1993年成為公司註冊處處長。他在2008年榮休,並於同年授勳銅紫荊星章,以表彰他多年來卓越的公共服務。退休後,Gordon積極參與和推動教育及藝術發展。身兼多職的他,不單是嶺南大學榮譽院士、國際會議研究員,亦是香港歌劇院校長及聖約翰大教堂的活躍成員,為大教堂合唱團歌詠。現在,Gordon將對社會事務的恆久熱誠,進一步拓展至學前教育領域,協助明德兒童啓育中心啟發有個別教育需要學童的學習之旅。

Clara是一位專業特許公認會計師,於各種財務管理及顧問方面擁有超過30年豐富經驗。Clara現時於永新企業有限公司擔任財務總監,之前曾任職於多間大型公營機構,包括醫院管理局、香港房屋委員會及香港賽馬會。在此期間,Clara的主要職責是為機構制定財務戰略管理,助他們實現更好的商業決策,並持續改善財務監控框架、審計和預算規劃管理,以及準備財務報表等。Clara是註冊公認會計師,同時為香港會計師公會會員。

Peter在2021年加入CDC委員會。他是高等法院的律師,亦是金融公司的董事會成員。在Peter眼中,當家庭希望為有額外學習需要的孩子尋求專業意見和支援時,CDC絕對是他們值得信賴的機構。他認為,在現今這個以各種才能和成就去衡量年幼孩子價值的社會,CDC的工作更顯難能可貴,因為它著重在教育過程中配合孩子的獨特學習方向,培養他們發揮自己最大潛力。

Jackie在2015年獲委任為CDC委員,對於支援有特殊學習需要的孩子懷著無比熱誠。Jackie於美國耶魯大學完成心理學學位後,於香港大學再取得教育碩士學位,對本港教育制度非常了解。她認為本港主流教育制度該對有特殊需要的學生有更多認識及接納,因此希望能盡一己之力支持CDC的使命,藉著為中心的執行委員會服務,協助CDC支援本港更多有個別學習需要的孩子,通過早期介入服務協助他們跨過障礙,獲得更完善的學習和教育機會,提升他們的發展潛質,並迎接更美好將來。

Henson自2004年起獲委任為CDC的委員。Henson在香港持有執業事務律師資格,是一間本地律師事務所的合夥人。此外,Henson更是香港律師會—審查及紀律常務委員會的一名委員。於過去的十多年間,Henson對CDC的服務及工作上的發展都作出了不遺餘力的貢獻。

Cruzanne在香港出生和成長,其後在新西蘭修畢劇本寫作碩士學位,及為有多重嚴重殘疾人士擔任照顧員。Cruzanne的女兒患有侏儒症,使得作為母親的她,更加致力消除社會上對殘疾人士的歧視 。她深信本港能夠成為全球榜樣,促進有額外需要的人士及其家庭獲得適切支援,而她認為CDC正好反映本港擁有這項潛質,因為中心代表著尊重不同價值,擁抱平等信念。

Cruzanne是香港電台第三台的定期撰稿人及廣告公司The Quick Word Company的創意總監,亦曾擔任 Resolve Foundation 2020育才計劃的導師。

Abigail在英國獲得管理學研究榮譽學士學位,並曾於2017年至2019年獲委任為CDC委員會的家長代表。Abigail親身體會CDC對其兒子的教育發展里程產生重大影響,她認為CDC團隊具有包容性及洞察力,驅使她亦致力以「可以作為父母參與…」及「回饋」的心態投入CDC工作。

Virginia提倡每個孩子都有權利接受度身訂造的教育服務,支援他們的個別需要。她於2021年重投CDC委員會,因為她相信明德兒童啓育中心能夠幫助孩子及其家庭點燃啓育學習旅程的火花。

Virginia擁有超過25年領導私營和社會企業的經驗,曾在不同多面向及多元文化的環境工作,與企業、政府和非牟利組織發展策略合作關係,推行計劃以實踐具社會影響力的創新項目,成績斐然。

Virginia相信培育人才是推動改革的關鍵,因此專注投身教育事業。她現時是共享價值計劃香港的首席執行官,此前曾擔任OneSky的全球營運總監和明德兒童啓育中心的行政總裁。

Trina在十年前由印度移民到香港。她明白當家長發現孩子確診有額外學習需要時,霎時會感到惶恐、孤單和忐忑不安。然而,她相信CDC著重早期介入教育及兒童發展,其全方位服務是她和更多家庭的重要支援。

作為CDC委員會的家長代表,Trina期望能夠與委員交流想法,以及與有不同需要的家庭分享相關的實用資料。

The Executive Committee

The Child Development Centre is governed by an Executive Committee. Executive Committee Members are elected annually at the Annual General Meeting held at the end of the year. The Committee members are all volunteers from the local Hong Kong community, and professionals in various fields. An appointed parent representative and advisors who have in-depth knowledge about the CDC are also invited to sit in on the Committee meetings. The Committee meets several times a year to help the Chief Executive and the Senior Leadership Team govern and maintain the strategic direction of the CDC. The Chief Executive reports directly to the Committee.

The Executive Committee comprises of three subcommittees that meet at least twice a year.

The Staffing Committee

The Staffing Committee oversees HR, remuneration and compliance with Government regulations on employment matters.

The Finance and Audit Committee

The Finance and Audit Committee oversees the appointment of auditors, the process of the annual audit, fee setting and budget formulation, investments, risk management and system of internal control for the CDC.

The Governance Committee

The Governance Committee monitors the governance structure, policies, practices and processes to ensure compliance with best practices in the not-for-profit sector. The committee also oversees the succession planning and recruitment of Executive Committee members.

MEET OUR MEMBERS

  • member image

    Sabrina Ho

    Chairman

    Sabrina joined the CDC Executive Committee as a parent member in 2000. She was the honorary treasurer from 2002 to 2007 and was elected Chairman in 2007. Sabrina won an award at the Directors of the Year Awards 2018 in the ‘Statutory/Non-profit-distributing Organisations Category’. Sabrina is a professional chartered accountant with more than 30 years of experience. She retired as finance director for an international law firm in Hong Kong in November 2020. She has contributed her time and effort to a wide variety of HK NGOs and community services since her return from the UK, but CDC remains closest to her heart. Sabrina’s son attended the CDC for two years due to his premature birth. He went to a mainstream school and graduated from university in 2019. Sabrina’s passion about the CDC’s work stems from the early intervention provided for her son and family in the early years of his life.

  • member image

    Gordon Jones

    Co Vice-Chair

    Gordon joined the CDC Executive Committee in December 2016. After joining the Administrative Service of the Hong Kong Government in 1973, he held a wide variety of senior administrative positions in government, becoming the Registrar of Companies in 1993. On retiring from the civil service in 2008, he was awarded The Bronze Bauhinia Star to acknowledge his many years of outstanding public service. Since retirement, he is very active in educational and arts development. He is, inter-alia, an Honorary Fellow of Lingnan University, a Fellow of the ICSA, a director of Opera Hong Kong and an active member of St. John’s Cathedral where he sings in the Cathedral Choir. His proven and long-running social commitment is now reflected in helping pre-school children with educational needs to embark on their learning journeys.

  • member image

    Virginia Wilson

    Co Vice-Chair

    Virginia advocates for every child’s right to receive a tailored education to support their individual needs. She rejoined the committee in 2021, believing the CDC is where the children and their families are given the spark that ignites their learning journey.

    Leading private and social enterprises for over 25 years in multilateral, culturally diverse environments, Virginia has a demonstrated track record of securing strategic partnerships between corporations, governments, and non-profits to deliver on projects to bring to life innovations that influence our society.

    Virginia focuses on education as she believes that investing in people is the key driver for impactful change. She is the Chief Executive Officer of the Shared Value Initiative Hong Kong. Previously, she was Global COO of OneSky and Chief Executive of The Child Development Centre.

  • member image

    Clara Chin

    Honorary Treasurer

    Clara is a professional chartered accountant with more than 30 years of solid experience in various financial management and advisory roles. Prior to joining the Novel Enterprises Limited as the Chief Financial Officer, she has worked with several prominent public organisations including the Hospital Authority, the Housing Authority and the Hong Kong Jockey Club. Throughout her years with these large public organisations, her key role focused predominantly on adding value through strategic financial management for better business decisions, continuous improvement of financial control frameworks, audit management, overseeing budget planning and management as well as statutory financial reporting. Clara is a certified public accountant and a member of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

  • member image

    Peter Gregoire

    Peter joined the CDC’s Executive Committee in 2021. He is a solicitor at the Hong Kong High Court and has served as a board member of financial companies. Peter views the CDC as a place that families can trust and turn to when they are seeking advice, guidance and help for their child with additional learning needs. He believes that, in our society where children are measured by their portfolios and achievements from a young age, the CDC stands out as an organisation that nurtures children along their unique learning path, helping them to flourish to be the best versions of themselves.

  • member image

    Joanne Hon

    Having spent most of her life in Hong Kong, Joanne owns a sense of responsibility when it comes to providing Hong Kong-based children and young people the path to a brighter future. Her passion to contribute to children with additional learning needs has grown after having encountered the CDC.

    Joanne holds a MSc in Financial Management from the University of London. With over 20 years of experience in Fintech, intellectual property and consultancy services in Asia Pacific, she has held leading positions in regional capacity in a number of multinational companies. She is also a committee Vice-Chair and voting member at the YWCA Hong Kong, responsible for social business and Y-Hospitality management.

  • member image

    Jackie Hui

    Jackie is passionate about special needs education. She joined the CDC’s Executive Committee in 2015 believing that the importance of special needs education should be more recognised within the Hong Kong education system. With a background in education, Jackie’s goal is to learn, contribute and give back to the community. Jackie has a Bachelor’s of Arts in Psychology from Yale University and she received her Master of Education from the University of Hong Kong. Through her work with the Executive Committee she hopes she can play a part in helping children with additional needs to overcome their challenges through early intervention.

  • member image

    Henson Lam

    Henson has been a CDC Executive Committee Member since 2004. He is a practicing solicitor and partner of a local Hong Kong law firm. Henson is a member of the Hong Kong Law Society Standing Committee on Compliance and also a member of the Hong Kong Law Society Consents Committee. Henson has been contributing his expertise and supporting CDC’s continued growth for over 10 years.

  • member image

    Cruzanne Macalligan

    Cruzanne was born and raised in Hong Kong. While completing her master’s degree in scriptwriting in New Zealand, she also worked as a caregiver for people with multiple severe disabilities. The arrival of her daughter, who was born with dwarfism, sharpened her passion for combating ableism in society. She believes that Hong Kong has the potential to be world-class in advocacy and support for people with additional needs, and their families. Cruzanne views the CDC, which represents a sense of positivity and embraces diversity, as an example of how that can be possible.

    Cruzanne is a regular contributor for RTHK Radio 3 and Creative Director at The Quick Word Company. She was a Mentor for the Resolve Foundation 2020 Fellowship.

  • member image

    Abigail Porter

    Abigail obtained a BSC Honours degree in Management Studies in the UK and was a Parent Representative on the CDC Executive Committee from 2017 until 2019. Motivated by a desire to be ‘as involved as I can be as a parent’ and to ‘give back’, Abigail sees the CDC as having had a significant impact on her own son’s educational development. she views CDC’s teaching staff as being inclusive, insightful and always accessible.

  • member image

    Trina Bandopadhyay

    Parent Representative

    Trina moved to Hong Kong from India about a decade ago. She understands that when children are diagnosed with various additional learning needs, their parents can find it daunting, isolating, and face a rollercoaster of emotions. Trina believes the CDC, with its complete focus on early intervention and children’s needs, is a crucial support system for her own family and many others.

    As the parent representative on the CDC Executive Committee, she is keen to communicate her ideas with board members and share useful information with families with diverse needs.